Warning: preg_match(): Unknown modifier 'd' in /home/users/club/htdocs/www.ctm-festival.de/typo3conf/ext/cwmobileredirect/Classes/Main.php on line 390 CTM.12 – Spectral :: CTM Berlin - Festival for Adventurous Music and Art

CTM.12 – Spectral

13th Edition, 2012

With an extensive program of concerts, discourses, and an exhibition space, CTM.12 – Festival for Adventurous Music and Related Arts is appropriating the festival theme SPECTRAL to explore the current reemergence of all things ghostly and dark in experimental music, avant-pop, and art – and to speculate about its possible causes and inherent potentials.

What the Press Said

«Berlins bestes Popfestival: Der Club Transmediale widmet sich den Geistern der Vergangenheit und ihrem Angriff auf die übrige Zeit.»
Berliner Zeitung, Jens Balzer

«A truly stunning festival» 
→ Electronic Beats

«Eine irre Geisterbeschwörung» 
→ Süddeutsche Zeitung

«Am Montag geht der Club Transmediale in seine 13. Runde. Über die Jahre ist der einstige Musikflügel des Medienkunstfestivals Transmediale zu einer der aufregendsten Institutionen für popaffine musikalische Avantgarden aller Art geworden.» 
→ Berliner Zeitung, Markus Schneider

«Last year we thought we’d seen the biggest line-up yet for CTM festival. But the thirteenth edition – CTM.12 – comes with an even bigger, better and musically broader bill than previous years.» 
→ Electronic Beats

«Make sure to reserve an extra seat for your ectoplasm.» 
→ Exberliner, D. Strauss

«Abenteuer sind mit Musik in heutiger Zeit nur noch selten zu erleben. Eine Ausnahme bildete die diesjährige [Club] Transmediale, die sich selbstgewählt dem Geisterhaften und Jenseitigen in der Musik zuwandte.» 
Intro, Christoph Büscher

«It is exactly this deep-thinking subversive approach, along with consistently progressive programming and curation, that has kept CTM festival on the map as one of the most highly regarded and essential landmarks on Berlin’s musical calendar.» 
→ Dont Panic

«With a fine pedigree in nailing the zeitgeist (…) CTM.12 steps up with a walloping line-up across a cluster of unmissable nights.» 
→ TimeOut Berlin, Louise Bralley

«…Club Transmediale (CTM), the “Festival for Adventurous Music and Related Arts” that arguably is Germany’s most relevant event entirely focusing on music.» 
→ No Fear Of Pop

«Festivals always fly by in an instant, but this year’s CTM doesn’t so much walk us through its week-long tenure as chew us up and spit us out. We’re welcomed back to the concrete-encrusted delights of Luton airport in what feels like the blink of an eye.» 
→  The Quietus, Rory Gibb

«Wer es gern elektronisch anspruchsvoll wie vielseitig mag, sollte sich dieses Event nicht entgehen lassen.» 
bln.fm, Ima Johnen


CTM.12 – SPECTRAL Trailer, made by MFO.

Visual Identity

↑ CTM.12 catalogue, folder and poster, design studio grau.


Alexander Christou ⦁ Ancient Methods ⦁ Andreas L. Hofbauer ⦁ Andy Votel ⦁ Anke Eckardt ⦁ Anstam ⦁ Antoni Maiovvi ⦁ Anworth Kirk ⦁ Applehead ⦁ Audint

Baby Ford ⦁ Balam Acab ⦁ Ben Frost w Shahzad Ismaily & Borgar Magnason ⦁ Bill Kouligas ⦁ Borngräber & Strüver ⦁ Bradley L. Garrett ⦁ Bruno Martinez ⦁ Byetone ⦁ Byung-Chul Han

Carol Robinson ⦁ Catherine Christer Hennix and the Chora(s)san Time-Court Mirage ⦁ Charles Curtis ⦁ Charles Matthews ⦁ Chris Salter  ⦁ Cristian Vogel ⦁ Co La ⦁ Conrad Schnitzler ⦁ Cut Hands

Dalglish ⦁ Delfonic ⦁ Dj Elephant Power ⦁ Dompteur Mooner

Eleh ⦁ Eliane Radigue

Felix Kubin ⦁ Free Arts Lab

Geeta Dayal ⦁ G.H. ⦁ Ghettospheric ⦁ Grouper

Hans-Joachim Roedelius ⦁ Harmonious Thelonious ⦁ Heatsick ⦁ Hieroglyphic Being ⦁ Hildur Guonadòttir ⦁ Holy Other ⦁ Hudson Mohawke

Iamthatiam ⦁ Ital

Jakobine Engel ⦁ James Ferraro ⦁ Jana Winderen ⦁ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma ⦁ Jonathan Kemp ⦁ Julian Wolfreys

Kangding Ray ⦁ Kassem Mosse ⦁ Ken McMullen ⦁ Kettel ⦁ Koehn  ⦁ Kuedo ⦁ Kyoka

Lando Kal ⦁ Laura López Paniagua ⦁ Lionel Marchetti ⦁ Loud-E

Manuel Göttsching ⦁ Mara Trax ⦁ Marcus Davidson ⦁ Mario Mentrup ⦁ Marius Reisser ⦁Mark Fell ⦁ Mark Fisher ⦁ Mark Weiser (Rechenzentrum)  ⦁ Martin Clausen ⦁ Martin Howse ⦁ Mika Vainio ⦁ Moritz Stumm & Nik Nowak ⦁ MFO ⦁ Mohn (Wolfgang Voigt & Jörg Burger) ⦁ Morphosis  ⦁ Mouse On Mars

Nik Nowak ⦁ Novo Line

Oneohtrix Point Never ⦁ oOoOO ⦁ Opium Hum ⦁ O'Tannenbaum Djs ⦁ Oval

Paul Paulun ⦁ Phurpa ⦁ Pole ⦁ PRSZR ⦁ Puzzle

Qluster (Hans-Joachim Roedelius & Onnen Bock w Armin Metz)

Ralf Baecker ⦁ Reza Negarestani ⦁ Roly Porter ⦁ Ryan Jordan

Salva ⦁ Sammy Dee ⦁ Sendai (Peter Van Hoesen & Yves de Mey) ⦁ Shlohmo ⦁ Shrubbn!! & Transforma ⦁ Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop ⦁ Slant Azimuth ⦁ Sølyst ⦁ Stellar Om Source ⦁ Supersilent w/ Stian Westerhus ⦁ Sven-åke Johansson

The Eternal Chord ⦁ The Joshua Light Show ⦁ Thibaut de Ruyter  ⦁ Thomas Fehlmann ⦁ Tim Hecker ⦁ Tom McCarthy / International Necornautical Society 

Ursula Bogner  ⦁ U-Matic & Telematique

Will Lynch ⦁ Wolfgang Seidel